Speedway Sedans Australia Inc.


Speedway Sedans Australia News

Take Two For Modified Sedan Series

It will be a case of Take Two at Hamiltons Western Speedway this Saturday night after the first round of the VMPA Tritech Lubricant Series was postponed due to rain last weekend.

There were torrential downpours forecast for Hamilton last weekend and sensibly race organisers opted to make the call to postpone the event early.

Thankfully, it was able to be moved to this weekend with minimal damage to the list with a revised total of 28 nominations.

The most notable withdrawal from this weekend is V8 Supercar young gun Cam Waters, who had a prior motorsport commitment in South Australia.

Owner of the Waters driven BA Falcon, Travis Shore, expressed his disappointment at having to withdraw from this weekend, but said race fans could be hopeful of seeing Waters take to the track later in the series.

Other casualties are ACT92 - Clint Watson who has opted to race at his home track Nowra, while Marcus Reddecliffe, Aaron Bunton and Matt Nelson all have other commitments.

The delay in racing however, has allowed Dale Hallett to join the field.

"I had a family commitment last weekend so was gutted I could not make. (With the rainout) now I can make the new date so it has worked in my favour," Hallett said.

"I'm looking forward to getting out there and seeing what this car does. Hopefully it behaves.

"As long as the car comes out alive off the dyno tomorrow I'm all set to go."

No doubt the postponing of the event has made the competitive field of drivers even more keen to get on the track and last years joint winner Nick Cockerill is one of those chomping at the bit.

Speaking of his success last season Cockerill said, "It was an awesome feeling to get the series win in my first season since Junior Sedans in 2012."

"Most of the credit should go to my team and especially my Dad for putting in countless hours to give me a car that can run up the front so often."

Cockerill said he was looking forward to this season.

"As for this year with some great tracks and a bigger car count, which is great for the class, I am really looking forward to the challenge.

"Like the old saying goes 'To be the best you have to beat the best' and my team and I are hoping we are lucky enough to match last years result."

Racing will take form of three heats each over eight laps before the all-important Blackwell Race Engines Top Six Pole Shuffle and the A Main to see who stamps their early dominance on the series.

MDA2 Jeremy McClure
MDA3 Neil Watson
MDA4 Brock Atkins
N5 Robbie Faux
MDA6 Wade McCarthy
N7 Andrew Blackwell
RDL9 Leigh Bourke
RDL11 Nick Cockerill
N13 Russell Bent
AV14 Matt Gerlach
B15 Zac Swanson
N15 Dale Hallett
N16 Russell Felsovary
MDA18 Jake Drewett
MDA19 David Smith
N25 Nick Hill
HA27 Brenton Killeen
HO31 Michae Hayden
AX32 Brody Chrystie
HO33 Daniel Simpson
MDA33 Taleah Dolic
HA36 Kellie Atkins
MOE41 Brad Hutchinson
RDL45 Kye Walters
BGO56 Graham West
MFA69 Daniel Drewett
MDA86 Angelo Halacas
GV94 Rachel Pratt

The VMPA would like to thank all their sponsors:
Tritech Lubricants
Blackwell Race Engines
Atkins Autoworks
Bass Highway Waste
Elite Shock Services
Higgs Contracting
Highline Racewear
Hush Designs
Pakenham Plumbing Services
Pickos Photos
True Design Homes.

*Details courtesy of DN Media

Brock Atkins immaculate BA Falcon set for Saturday night.

Australian Racing Rules & Regulations

Live Audio 

Speedway Sedans Australia Audio Channel 1

Speedway Sedans Australia Audio Channel 2

Saturday, 12 May 2018 Gympie Speedway Channel 3